1993-94
Yearbook
for
Original
Free Will Baptists

CONTENTS

FOREWORD	7
DIRECTORY OF ORDAINED MINISTERS	9
DIRECTORY OF LICENSED MINISTERS	25
DIRECTORY OF CHURCHES	29
DIRECTORY OF DENOMINATIONAL MINISTRIES	71
MINUTES OF STATE BODIES	75
Convention of Churches	77
Officers, Boards, and Committees	77
Proceedings	78
Reports	81
Credentials Committee	81
Obituary Committee	83
Resolutions Committee	82
Nominating Committee	84
Constitution and Bylaws	86
Woman's Auxiliary Convention	91
League Convention	100
MINUTES OF CONFERENCES AND ASSOCIATION	103
Piedmont	105
Albemarle	109
Western	114
Pee Dee	121
Eastern	128
Cape Fear	136
. Central	143
STATISTICAL TABLES	155

MINUTES of the 245th ANNUAL CONFERENCE of the CENTRAL CONFERENCE of the ORIGINAL FREE WILL BAPTISTS

Held with FIRST FREE WILL BAPTIST CHURCH OF LA GRANGE, NC Lenoir County, North Carolina Thursday, November 11, 1993 The Rev. Clifford Harwood, Host Pastor

OFFICERS OF THE CONFERENCE

MODERATOR: The Rev. Leon Grubbs
ASSISTANT MODERATOR: The Rev. Gary Bailey
CLERK: The Rev. Philip Wood
ASSISTANT CLERK: The Rev. Harry A. Jones Jr.
TREASURER: The Rev. Stanley Buck

MUSICIAN: Mrs. Carolyn Hill SOLOIST: Mr. Ken Lee SONG LEADER: The Rev. Harry A. Jones Jr.

BOARDS AND COMMITTEES

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
The Rev. Leon Grubbs, Moderator
The Rev. Gary Bailey, Assistant Moderator
The Rev. Philip Wood, Clerk
The Rev. Harry A. Jones Jr., Assistant Clerk
The Rev. Stanley E. Buck Jr., Treasurer

BOARD OF ORDINATION

The Rev. Bruce Jones (1994)
The Rev. Ronnie Hobgood (1996)

The Rev. Charles Branch (1995) The Rev. J. B. Narron (1997)

The Rev. Harry Grubbs (1998)

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Mr. Zeb Roy Harrison (1995) Mr. Joe Williams (1997)

The Rev. N. Bruce Barrow (1996) Mrs. C. L. Patrick (1998)

BOARD OF MISSIONS

Mr. Billy Gurkins (1994) Mr. Billy Churchill (1996) The Rev. Leon Harris (1995) The Rev. Scott Sowers (1997)

The Rev. N. Bruce Barrow (1998)

BOARD OF FINANCE

Mrs. Alma Buck (1994) The Rev. Frank Flowers (1996)

Mrs. Mary Boyd (1995) The Rev. Mark Hobbs (1997)

The Rev. David Langley (1998)

KOINONIA ADVISORS

The Rev. Donald Ribeiro (1994)

Mrs. Janie Sowers (1995)

The Rev. Ronnie Hobgood (1996)

REPRESENTATION OF MEMBERSHIPS IN

THE FREE WILL BAPTIST PRESS FOUNDATION, INC.

Mrs. Louise Whitehurst (1994) The Rev. Ron Braxton (1996)

The Rev. J. B. Narron (1995) Mr. Thomas Strickland (1997)

The Rev. Dan Beaman (1998)

CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

The Rev. David Hill (1994)

The Rev. Walt Tyndall (1995)

Mr. Barry Williamson (1996)

OBITUARY COMMITTEE

The Rev. Tom Miller (1994)

The Rev. Earl Glenn (1995)

The Rev. Thomas Bowen (1996)

CONFERENCE HISTORIAN Miss Leah McGlohon (1994)

PUBLICITY CHAIRPERSON Mrs. Janie Sowers (1994)

REPRESENTATIVE OF MEMBERSHIPS IN CHURCH FINANCE ASSOCIATION, INC. The Rev. Steve Hargrove (1994)

ROLL OF CENTRAL CONFERENCE MINISTERS BY SENIORITY

MINISTER	ORDAINED	1991	1992	1993
N. D. Beaman	12/04/33	P	P	P
C. L. Patrick	04/20/47	P	P	· P
N. Bruce Barrow	09//35	P	P	P
J. B. Narron	10/13/50	P	P	P
Michael Pelt	//50	P	P	P
Willis Wilson	12/28/54	P	P	P
C. H. Overman	//52	P	P	P
Joseph Lehman	11/09/65	Α	P	L
Charles Branch	01/05/69	P	P	L
Bruce Jones	09/05/71	P	P	P "
Clinton Davis	07/05/72	Α	P	P
Gary Bailey	07/12/72	P	P	P
Walter Reynolds	07/30/49	P	Α	L
Tom Miller	07/02/67	P	P	P
Stewart Humphrey	11/10/66	L	L	L,
Leon Grubbs	09/05/68	P	P	P
Bobby Taylor	11/02/73	P	P	P
Ronnie Hobgood	08/13/78	P	P	P
Melvin Moore	//	Α	P	L
Harry Grubbs	02/24/67	P	P	P
Frank Flowers	06/02/72	P	P	P-
•				

Earl Glenn	//	P	P	P
Billy Ray Jordan (Retired)	10/17/62	P	P	P
R. P. Harris (Retired)	11/20/33	P	L	L
Leon Harris	05/17/81	P	Α	P
Clifford Ball	08/20/81	P	P	P
Ray Williamson	05/11/77	P	P	P
Ronald Braxton	02/03/83	P	P	L
Donald Ribeiro	//	L	Α	L
David Hill	10/31/68	P	P	L
Mark Hobbs	//	P	L	P
Bass Mitchell	10/31/76	L	L	L
W. Scott Sowers	07/01/73	L	P	P
Stanley Buck	09/17/76	P	P	L
James Lupton (Retired)	11/18/52	P	. Р	L
Steve Hargrove	05/31/78	P	P	P
David Langley	10/05/87	P	P	P
Philip Wood	05/12/79	P	P	P
Norwood Futrell	09//51	P	P	P
David Parrish	//	L	P	L
Thomas Parrish	01/10/63	L	L	L
Calvin Heath	//	P	P	L
Harry Allen Jones Jr.	10/27/91	P	P	L
Ronnie Mohn	//	P	Α	P
Carroll Bradbury	09/23/91	P	P	P
Glen Mills	09/23/91	P	P	P
H. P. Norman	09/09/93	P	P	P
Frank Robbins	09/08/93	P	P	P
Walter R. Tyndall	08/08/93	P	P	P
Larry Letchworth	09/23/91	P	P	P
LICE	NSED MINISTERS			
Licensed Minister		1991	1992	1993
Joseph Williams II			P	A
Todd Sutton			P	P
Jack E. Weathersby			Ĺ	P
Wesley Adrian Hines			_	A
Barry Wayne Williamson				P
, , · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				•

ROLL OF CHURCHES

Church	Delegate	Letter	Contribution
Aspen Grove	no	no	
Ayden	yes	yes	\$40
Bethany	no	yes	\$15
Black Jack	no	yes	\$100
Community	yes	yes	\$25
Daniel's Chapel	yes	yes	\$25
Dilda's Grove	no	по	
Edgewood	no	yes	\$10
Elm Brove	yes	yes	\$50
Free Union	no	yes	\$100
Friendship	yes	yes	\$50
Greenville, First	yes	yes	\$25
Grimsley	no	yes	
Gum Swamp	no	no	

Harrell's Chapel	yes	yes	\$30
Hickory Grove	yes	yes	\$35
Howell Swamp	no	yes	\$10
Hugo	yes	yes	\$10 \$10
Hull Road	•	yes	\$60
King's Cross Roads	yes no	no	
La Grange, First			\$75
Little Creek	yes	yes	\$73 \$50
Marlboro	yes	yes	\$100
	yes	yes	
Ormondsville	yes	no	\$25
Otter's Creek	no	no	250
Owen's Chapel	yes	yes	\$50
Peace	yes	yes	\$50
Piney Grove (Beaufort)	no	yes	\$50
Piney Grove (Pitt)	yes	yes	\$30
Pleasant Hill	no	no	
Reedy Branch	yes	yes	\$25
Rocky Mount	no	yes	\$30
Rose Hill	yes	yes	\$50
Rose of Sharon	no	no	
Saint's Delight	no	yes	\$35
Saratoga	no	yes	\$45
Spring Branch	no	yes	\$150
Sweet Gum Grove	no	no	
Tarboro, First	yes	yes	\$50
Walnut Creek	no	yes	\$50
Watery Branch	no	no	\$50
Williamston, First	yes	yes	\$25
Winterville	yes	yes	\$55
Hillside Mission (Grifton)	no	yes	\$25
,		•	

PROCEEDINGS

MORNING SESSION

The Central Conference of Original Free Will Baptists, being the continuation of the General Conference, convened in its 245th Annual Session with First Free Will Baptist Church, La Grange, North Carolina, on Thursday, November 11, 1993, at 9:30 a.m.

The Conference opened with a hymn, "All Hail the Power," led by the Rev. Harry A. Jones Jr. Mr. Todd Sutton read Scripture and led in the opening prayer.

The Rev. Phillip Wood, clerk, called the annual session to order and presented the Moderator, the Rev. Leon Grubbs, who presided over the session.

The Rev. Cliff Harwood, interim pastor of First Church, La Grange, extended a cordial welcome to the Conference.

The Moderator gave a brief address to the Conference.

The roll of churches was called, with 21 churches responding with delegates.

Three visiting ministers were recognized and welcomed by the Moderator: from the Eastern Conference—the Rev. Ralph Sumner; from the Western Conference—the Rev. Joe Ingram and the Rev. Clifford Harwood. (Three other visiting ministers registered at the Conference: the Rev. Walter Sutton, Eastern Conference; the Rev. O. B. Jones and the Rev. Chuck Owens, Western Conference.)

The Moderator appointed temporary committees as follows:

Parliamentarian--the Rev. C. L. Patrick; Nominating--Dr. Bobby Taylor, chairman; the Rev. N. D. Beaman, and Dr. Michael Pelt; Resolutions and Temperance--the Rev. Clifford Ball, chairman; the Rev. Glenn Mills, and the Rev. Norwood Futrell; Credentials--Macon Page, chairman; Song Leader--the Rev. Harry A. Jones Jr.; Ushers, supplied by First Church, La Grange.

The report of the Executive Committee was read by the Clerk, By motion, it was adopted (see Reports).